Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content
   
San Antonio College Schedule/Catalog 2017-2018
San Antonio College
   
 
  Oct 26, 2020
 
San Antonio College Schedule/Catalog 2017-2018 
    
San Antonio College Schedule/Catalog 2017-2018 [Archived Catalog]

Contact Information and Hours


 

Summer Hours Only (June - August)

All Alamo Colleges, San Antonio College, open Monday - Thursday and closed Fridays and Saturdays.
Administrative and Academic Department Offices are open 7:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday - Thursday.
Advising / Counseling Services, Enrollment Services, Residency, Assessment (Testing), Student Financial Services, Bursar’s Office, and Photo ID Center are open from 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m., Monday - Thursday.

Advising Services, Moody Learning Center, MLC 1st Floor, 210-486-0334

Website

  • Schedule your Advising Appointment Online

Apply for Admissions to any of The Alamo Colleges District

Hours of Operation: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Tuesday 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
First Saturday of every month 9:00 am - 1:00 pm; Sundays and Holidays Closed

Website

  • Admissions Processing
  • Application Deadlines

Assessment and Testing Center, Fletcher Administration Center, FAC 112, 210-486-0444

Website

  • Testing

  • THEA-IBT

  • Accuplacer

Bursar (Business Office), Fletcher Administration Center, FAC 201, 210-486-0201

Hours of Operation: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Tuesday 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
First Saturday of every month 9:00 am - 1:00 pm; Sundays and Holidays Closed

Website

  • Tuition

Career Services, Moody Learning Center, MLC 1st Floor, 210-486-0142

Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm,
Saturdays and Sundays Closed; Holidays Closed

Website

  • Job Search Skills
  • Access to employment opportunities
  • Assist students identifying a major and career field

College Writing Center, Gonzales Hall, GH 203, 210-486-1433

Hours of Operation: Monday - Tuesday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Wednesday - Thursday, 8:00 am - 7:00 pm, Friday, Closed,
Saturday 8:00 am - 12:00 pm; Sundays and Holidays Closed

Website

  • Developmental Lab Hour Assistance
  • Tutoring

Counseling, Chance Academic Center, CAC 323, 210-486-1620

Hours of Operation: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Tuesday 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
First Saturday of every month 9:00 am - 1:00 pm; Sundays and Holidays Closed
Hours of Operation (Summer Hours): Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm, Friday - Sunday Closed

Website

  • Services for Students
  • Services for Faculty & Staff

disAbility Support Services, Moody Learning Center, MLC 1st Floor, 210-486-0020

Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturdays and Sundays Closed; Holidays Closed

Counselors: Monday - Thursday by Appointment Only

Website

  • disAbility Information

Dual Credit, Chance Academic Center, CAC 136, 210-486-0177

Website

  • Earn college level credit as a junior or senior in high school

Financial Aid & Scholarships

Financial Aid website

Scholarships website

  • College School Codes
  • Financial Aid Appeals
  • Refunds and and Disbursement Schedule
  • Scholarships

International Students Office, Oppenheimer Academic Center, OC 225, 210-486-0116

Hours of Operation: Unless otherwise posted, Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 1:00 pm and 2:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Saturdays and Sundays Closed; Holidays Closed

Website

  • Assist International F-1 students with admissions processing
  • Information and opportunities
  • Assist with federal appeals

Library, Moody Learning Center, MLC 2nd - 4th Floor, 210-486-0554

Website

  • Periodicals
  • Reference Services

Services for Women & Non-Traditional, Empowerment Center, 703 Howard St., 210-486-0455

Website

  • Academic advisement
  • Academic skills development
  • career counseling
  • Transportation and textbook assistance
  • Childcare referrals
  • Parenting support programs
  • workshops

Student ID Center, Fletcher Administration Center, FAC 202, 210-486-0015

Hours of Operation: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Tuesday 8:00 am - 7:00 pm
First Saturday of every month 9:00 am - 1:00 pm; Sundays and Holidays Closed

Website

  • Student ID

Student Learning Assistance Center, Moody Learning Center, MLC 707, 210-486-0165

Hours of Operation: Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 8:00 pm, and Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm,
Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm; Sundays and Holidays Closed

Website

  • Internet and Software access services
  • Proctoring exam services
  • Tutoring Services

The Virtual Business Office

Website

  • Tuition
  • Installment Payment Plans

Tino & Millie Duran Welcome Center, corner of N. Main Ave. and Park St., 210-486-0040

Website

Tino & Millie Duran Welcome Center at San Antonio College serves new and returning students with enrollment process which include:

  • Assistance with the completion of the Apply Texas application for admission and the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
  • Guidance on completion of the AlamoENROLL process to be admitted and enrolled at San Antonio College
  • Submittal of official transcripts and Bacterial Meningitis documents
  • Online class registration and bill payments via ACES, the Alamo Student Portal

Veterans Affairs, Victory Center, VC 101, 210-486-0111 (Information Center)

Hours of Operation: Monday-Thursday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm, Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Limited)
Saturdays and Sundays Closed; Holidays Closed

Website

  • Veterans Information

 

Helpful Numbers                     Area Code: (210)

 ^Top    

SAC General Information 210-486-0200
 Administrative Offices  
  • President’s Office
 486-9254
  • Vice-President of Academic Success
 486-0953
  • Vice-President of College Services
 486-0937
  • Vice-President of Student Success
 486-0932
  • Dean of Arts and Sciences
 486-0915
  • Dean of Professional and Technical Education
486-0927
Police Department  
  • Emergency - DPS Police (24 hour dispatch)
222-0911
  • Non-Emergency - DPS Police (24 hour dispatch)
485-0189
  • Weather Line (for College Closing)
485-0189
Child Care Services 486-0530
College Writing Center 486-1433
Continuing Education 486-0925
Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services 486-0110
Early College Programs 486-0177
Help Desk (OTS) On-Campus 486-0777
Help Desk (Alamo Colleges District) 485-0555

International Student’s Office

486-0116
KSYM/FM Radio 486-KSYM (5796)
Library 486-0559
Newspaper - The Ranger 486-1771
Office of Technology Services (Main Office) 486-0030
Public Relations Office 486-0880
Student Assistance Program 486-1460
Student Learning Assistance Center (Tutoring) 486-0165
Student Life 486-0125
Student Support Services Project 486-0475
Testing 486-0444
Welcome Center 486-0040
Women’s & Empowerment Center 486-0455
Writing Center 486-0695

 

Department Contact Information

  ^Top

Department

Office Building & Room/Email

Phone (area code 210)

Advising Services

MLC 100 (1st Floor)

486-0333

Accounting Technology

NTC 313/314

486-0532/0531

Administrative Assistant

NTC 313/314

486-0532/0531

Administrative Computer Technology

NTC 313/314

486-0532/0531

Allied Health

NAHC 134

486-1502

American Sign Language and Interpreter Training

NTC 114

486-1106

Anthropology

CAC 345

486-0840 or 486-0858

Architecture

CAC 263

486-0079

Arts (Visual Arts)

VAC 222G or MCFA 105

486-1046 or 486-0255

Astronomy

Dan Hansen - Email: dhansen@alamo.edu

486-0845

Biological Sciences

Dan Hansen - Email: dhansen@alamo.edu

486-0845

Business

OC 325

486-1414

Chemistry

John Paparelli - Email: jpaparelli@alamo.edu

486-0056

Computer Information Systems

NTC 229

486-1050

Computer Science (Mathematics)

MCCH 221

486-0270

Communication Design

LRTF 112

486-1367 or 486-1037

Counseling

CAC 323 486-1620

Court Reporting

CAC 223/NTC 313 or 324C

486-0835 or 486-0544/0531

Criminal Justice

CAC 223 or 303C

486-0835 or 486-0196

Dance

George Ann Simpson - Email: gsimpson@alamo.edu

486-1021

Dental Assisting

NAHC 208

486-1502

Early Childhood Studies

ECSB 205

486-0526 or 486-0500

Early Childhood Center (Daycare Information)

ECSB 100 (210 West Ashby)

486-0530

Earth Sciences (Geographic Information Systems, Geography, Geology)

Dr. Teanna Staggs - Email: tstaggs@alamo.edu

486-0840 or 486-0045

Economics

OC 325

486-1414 or 486-1408/1409

Education (Teaching)

MCCH 132B

486-1280

Emergency Management & Homeland Security

CAC 136

486-1691/1692

Emergency Medical Technician

NAHC 134

486-1502

Engineering

CAC 145B or 238

486-1309/1310

English

GH 123

486-0649

English as a Second Language (ESL)

OC 119

486-0965

Fire Academy (Protective Services)

CAC 136

486-1692

Fire Science

Mike Parsons - Email: mparsons@alamo.edu or CAC 136

486-1692

History

CAC 303

486-1091 or 486-1695

Homeland Security (Protective Services)

CAC 136

486-1692

Honors Academy @ SAC

Email: SAC-HonorsAcademy@alamo.edu

486-1100

Humanities

Janice Focht-Hansen - Email: jfocht-hansen@alamo.edu

486-1436

Human Services

Dr. Ed Bergen - Email: ebergen@alamo.edu or NTC 323

486-1255 or 486-1267

International Students Office

Email: SAC-ISO@alamo.edu

486-0116

International Studies

OC 119B

486-0965

Journalism

LSC 204

486-1765

Kinesiology

Brad Dudney - Email: bdudney@alamo.edu or CPEC 131A

486-1017

Mathematics

MCCH 221

486-0270

Media Communications

NTC 229

486-1050

Medical Assisting

NAHC 134

486-1502

Mexican-American Studies

Dr. Lisa Ramos - Email: lramos175@alamo.edu or CAC 100

486-0760

Military Science (SAC Army ROTC)

Email: armyrotc@utsa.edu or UTSA Main Campus-GSR 1.220A.1

458-5628

Mortuary Science

NTC 239

486-1137

Music

Andrew Gignac - Email: agignac@alamo.edu or Music Hall Annex 117

486-0269

Music Business

LRTF 116

486-1380

Natural Sciences

G. Roger Stanley - Email: gstanley@alamo.edu

486-0840 or 486-0045

Nursing

NAHC 378

486-1144

Paralegal Studies

NTC 203 or 313

486-1067 or 486-0531

Philosophy

OC 232

486-0252

Photography

James P. “Buzz” McBride - Email: jmcbride1@alamo.edu or LSC 100

486-1766

Physics

CAC 145

486-1300

Political Science (Government)

CAC 223

486-1312/1313

Protective Services

CAC 136

486-1692 or 486-0086

Psychology

MLC 617

486-1253

Public Administration

CAC 223 or 217A

486-0835 or 486-0192

Radio-Television-Broadcasting

LRTF 108

486-1367

Reading

MCCH 132B

486-1280

Records Management

NTC 313

486-0531/0532

Sociology

CAC 328 or MLC 617

486-1327 or 486-1319

Social Work

CAC 323 or MLC 617 or Email: sac-socw@alamo.edu

486-1003 or 486-1319

Speech Communication

MCFA 209

486-0487 or 486-0481

Student Development

CAE (Center for Academic Enrichment) 1st Floor

486-0370

Theatre

MCFA 105A or 129B

486-0255 or 486-0492

World Languages

CAC 119B

486-0965

 

 

Advising Staff by Institutes

^Top

Nursing and Allied Health Science  *Now located in Nursing & Allied Health Center, NAHC 109; 210-486-1406 

Antonio Contreras: acontreras@alamo.edu

 Bonita DeLeon: bdeleon25@alamo.edu

 Mia Gallegos:mlozano162@alamo.edu 

Erendira Martinez: ecalderon14@alamo.edu

Debbie Patton: dpatton7@alamo.edu  

Team Lead: Maria Rogers mrogers3@alamo.edu

Business and Public Service  *Now located in NTC 324B; 210-486-0328  

Andrea Flores: aflores743@alamo.edu

Sara Passement: spassement@alamo.edu

Sabrina Macal-Polasek: smacal@alamo.edu

Valente Revelez: vrevelez@alamo.edu

 Team Lead

Daniel Barreto: dbarretoalderr@alamo.edu

Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics *Now located in Chance Academic Center, CAC 103; 210-486-0768  

Denice Braziel:dbraziel@alamo.edu

Claudia Calvario: ccalvario@alamo.edu

Shawn Melendes: smelendes1@alamo.edu

Javier Vargas: jvargas@alamo.edu

 Team Lead

Amy Gomez: agomez201@alamo.edu

Creative Communications and Art  (MLC 1st Floor)

Rebecca Ash: rash2@alamo.edu

Philip Casarez: pcasarez14@alamo.edu

Jennifer Correa: jcorrea1@alamo.edu

Mary Segovia: msegovia@alamo.edu

Norma Ramirez: nramirez28@alamo.edu

Health & Biosciences

NAHC 109

210-486-1406

Business & Public Service

NTC 324B

210-486-0328

Science & Technology (STEM)

CAC 103

210-486-0768

Creative & Communication Arts

MLC 1st Floor

210-486-0333

  • Biology / Pre-Nursing Emphasis
  • Accounting Technology / Technician
  • Anthropology
  • American Sign Language / Deaf Support / Interpreter
  • Biology / Pre-Pharmacy Emphasis
  • Administrative / Entrepreneurship
  • Biology
  • Architecture
  • Biology / Pre-Professional Emphasis
  • Banking & Financial
  • Engineering
  • Art
  • Biology / Pre-Dental Emphasis
  • Basic Firefighter
  • Environmental Science
  • Communications / Speech
  • Biology / Pre-Medical Emphasis
  • Business Administration
  • General Science
  • Dance
  • Dental Assisting / Dental Technician
  • Child Care Admininstration
  • Mathematics
  • Drama
  • Dental Laboratory Technician
  • Correctional Science
  • Psychology
  • English
  • Dentistry
  • Court Reporting
  • Computer Programmer
  • Fine Arts & Humanities
  • Kinesiology
  • Criminal Justice
  • Computer Support Specialist
  • Foreign Languages
  • Emergency Medical Technician / Basic / Paramedic
  • Drug / Alcohol Abuse
  • Communication Design
  • History
  • Ermergency Medical Services / Technician / Basic
  • Early Childhood Studies
  • Computer Network Administrator: Service Track
  • International Studies
  • EMT Paramedic
  • Education
  • Computer Database Specialist
  • Journalism
  • Medical Assisting
  • Emergency Management
  • CISCO Certified Network
  • Liberal Arts / Liberal Arts - Transfer Curriculum
  • Medical Office Administrative
  • Financial Management
  • Information Security / Assurance
  • Music
  • Medical Technology
  • Fire Science
  • Information Technology Security
  • Philosophy
  • Medical Transcriptionist Specialist
  • Human Resources Management
  • MCSA: Windows Server Administrator
  • Radio-Television-Broadcasting
  • Medicine
  • Human Services
  • Network Administrator

 

  • Nursing - Career Mobility - LVN to RN / Military to RN
  • International Business

 

 

  • Nursing - Generic
  • Leadership in the Public Sector

 

 

 

  • Legal Administration

 

 

 

  • Legal Assisting

 

 

 

  • Marketing Management

 

 

 

  • Mortuary Science

 

 

 

  • Music Business

 

 

 

  • Office Assistant

 

 

 

  • Paralegal Studies

 

 

 

  • Political Science

 

 

 

  • Public Administration

 

 

 

  • Real Estate Management

 

 

 

  • Records Management

 

 

 

  • Social Work

 

 

 

  • Sociology

 

 

 

  • Teacher Assistant